Origin of Senior Citizens' Services Fund Tax

In November 2003, the majority of qualified voters of Clay County approved a levy to collect a tax not to exceed five cents per hundred dollars of assessed valuation upon all taxable property within the county for the purpose of providing services to persons sixty years of age or older. The tax shall be collected along with other county taxes in the manner provided by law and shall be deposited in a special fund for the provision of services as authorized in sections 67.990 to 67.995 of House Bill 351. Deposits in the fund shall be expended only upon approval of the board of directors established in section 67.993 and only in accordance with the fund budget approved by the county. According to House Bill 351 and revised Statutes of Missouri; the Clay County Commission will appoint a seven member Senior Citizens’ Services Fund Board.

The governing body of the county shall appoint a board of directors. Directors may be reappointed. The governing body of the county shall appoint replacements. All vacancies on the board of directors shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by the governing body of the county. 


Clay County Senior Services Board of Directors 2016

Melissa Wilson - Treasurer

Bob Nance - board member

Su Bacon - board member

Michael Maher - Vice-Chair

Bill Dane - board member

Tina Uridge - Executive Director

Robert Steinkamp - Board Chair

Edward O'Herin - Secretary

(Click on board member's name for a short bio.)